collapse

Author Topic: On Deity -or- Where the (Really) Wild Things Are  (Read 2190 times)

TheHumanAxiom

• Apprentice
    • View Profile
On Deity -or- Where the (Really) Wild Things Are
« on: July 29, 2013, 07:01:40 pm »
I would like to raise a discussion about the nature/experience of deity; I welcome any input of course, though I am also particularly interested in hearing from individuals who write, roleplay, act, and/or otherwise create fictional characters.

I am just beginning my study on pagan based religion, after a long standing interest. I am very drawn towards the concept of multiple, distinct deities, though I haven't settled on whether I take a hard polytheistic stance, or a softer "all are facets of the one" stance yet.

What I am struggling with is how to discern experiences of deity from experiences of imagination, archetypes, the subconscious, etc. The reason I specifically asked for input from individuals who create fiction, is because as someone who very casually roleplayed in my younger days, I have nonetheless had the experience of a "living" fictional character in my head. While I am sure I used some archetypal personality structure for these characters, they had their own experiences in the roleplay, and seemed to exist as distinct individuals in my mind. If I wanted, I could have a mock conversation with them, as well as being aware that their advice or opinions on specific issues may differ from mine, or from other of my characters. Being creations of my mind, their input was almost always available on a whim - of course with more nuance and detail the more I had been thinking about the roleplay and that character.