Re: moses or mose by SunflowerP
[Yesterday at 09:48:58 pm]

moses or mose by Larix
[Yesterday at 08:24:25 pm]

Re: "2001: A Space Odyssey" Becomes Real? by Ashmire
[March 14, 2024, 01:21:17 am]

Re: "2001: A Space Odyssey" Becomes Real? by atr
[March 14, 2024, 01:15:08 am]

Author Topic: Actual Meaning Vs. Intuitive thought  (Read 6172 times)

sunflower47

• Sr. Apprentice
    • View Profile
Actual Meaning Vs. Intuitive thought
« on: August 26, 2012, 04:16:50 pm »
So, I'm pretty new to the tarot, and I'm not super psychic or anything, but nearly every time I do a reading with my deck what I feel like the cards should mean pretty much never match what they actually mean. I mean, they aren't polar opposites or anything, my feelings are usually related to the original meaning, but it's always slightly different. Does this happen often to anyone else? How often do you use your own inferences rather than a typical guidebook meaning?

Nachtigall

• Master Member
    • View Profile
Re: Actual Meaning Vs. Intuitive thought
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2012, 04:46:30 pm »
Quote from: sunflower47;70789
So, I'm pretty new to the tarot, and I'm not super psychic or anything, but nearly every time I do a reading with my deck what I feel like the cards should mean pretty much never match what they actually mean. I mean, they aren't polar opposites or anything, my feelings are usually related to the original meaning, but it's always slightly different. Does this happen often to anyone else? How often do you use your own inferences rather than a typical guidebook meaning?

If I have a strong feel (that is, a definite feeling of certainty - when images or keywords just come into my head and refuse to go away) that a card means something different from traditional interpretation, I will most probably go with it.